Provincial Capital


Local Language


Local Delicacy


Davao del Sur is in southeastern Mindanao. It is bounded on the north by Davao Province, on the east by Davao Gulf, on the west by Cotabato Province, Sultan Kudarat and South Cotabato, and on the south by the Mindanao Sea. Geographically, Davao City is in Davao del Sur. It is a highly urbanized city.
The western part of the province is dominated by Mt. Apo which is the country┬┤s highest peak. Mount Tanglao and Mount Latian are two other landmarks in the hinterlands. Wide fertile valleys are found between the mountain ranges and the narrow coastal plains in the east.
Davao City was founded by a Spanish expedition led by Jose Oyanguren in 1848. He named the village Nueva Vergara after his hometown in Spain. It became a city on October 16, 1936.

Batanes Province