Provincial Capital


Local Language


Local Delicacy


The province of Davao de Oro was formerly known as Compostela Valley and was carved from the Davao del Norte province by virtue of Republic Act 8470 ratified on 8 March 1998. It celebrates its founding anniversary every 8th of March. The province was officially renamed from Compostela Valley to Davao de Oro by virtue of Republic Act 11297 approved on 17 April 2019 and ratified through a plebiscite held on 7 December 2019.
Davao de Oro is located in the middle-eastern part of Davao Region, bounded by Agusan del Sur on the North, Davao Oriental on the East and the South, Davao Gulf on the Southwest and Davao del Norte on the West. It is comprised of eleven (11) municipalities with 237 barangays and sub-divided into two (2) legislative districts.

Batanes Province