Provincial Capital


Local Language


Local Delicacy


Zamboanga del Norte Province formerly “Jamboanga”, occupies the northwestern part of the Zamboanga Peninsula in western Mindanao. North and west of the province is Sulu Sea, east is Misamis Occidental and southeast is separated by mountain ranges from the south.
Zamboanga del Norte is a part of the Zamboanga Peninsula which used to be a single province, on the the six districts of Mindanao and Sulu in Spanish times. in 1914, the American Civil Government reorganized the Mindanao “Govierno Militar” and established the Department of Mindanao and Sulu with the town of Zamboanga (now Zamboanga City) as the seat of government. On June 6, 1952, the peninsula was divided into the provinces of Zamboanga del Norte and Zamboanga del Sur.

Batanes Province