Provincial Capital


Local Language


Local Delicacy


During the early years of Spanish rule, Camarines Norte was part of a province called Ambos Camarines. This was split into the northern and southern provinces in 1829 but was again merged in 1854. In 1857, the province was again separated and once more reunited in 1893. Finally, in March 10, 1917, the Philippine Legislature decreed the partition of Ambos Camarines into Camarines Norte and Camarines Sur.

Camarines Norte Province is a crescent-shaped province that stretches northwest to the southeast. It faces Lamon Bay and the Pacific Ocean on the northeast and is bounded on the south by Camarines Sur and a portion of Quezon. Its terrain is characterized by rolling hills and mountains in the interior and fertile plains and valleys along the coast.

Batanes Province