Provinces of the Philippines


Central Luzon

Batanes Seal

Provincial Capital

San Fernando

Local Language


Local Delicacy


Tarlac takes on the cultures of Pangasinenses from its north, Ilocanos of Nueva Ecija on its east, Tagalogs of Zambales from its west and finally, Kapampangans from the south.

There is much folklore on the origin of its name. The most recognized is its deriviation from the Aeta world “Malatarlak” which refers to the wild cogon grass that greeted the Aetas when they first stepped into the land which is now Tarlac. Aetas were the earliest occupants of Luzon and moved throughout as nomads in search for food.

The land of Tarlac was formed when volcanic eruptions created the Zambales Range. This range was once an island separated from the rest of what is now Luzon by a strait from the Lingayen Gulf to the Manila Bay. From the continual activity of the volcanoes, its sand rested on the Zambales Range over the strip of the sea. There emerged Tarlac Province, a wide, flat, reclaimed land area, part of the great central plains of Luzon. Some great valleys of land became water where passenger canoes floated during the flood seasons from Manila Bay to Lingayen Gulf.

Batanes Province